Get a Same Day Cannabis Card Today!


If you are unsure or have questions call us to see if you qualify

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey Today

Medical marijuana has been legalized in New Jersey since 2012, and many people have found relief from their medical conditions by using cannabis. To legally purchase and use marijuana for medicinal purposes, you need to obtain a medical marijuana card from the state of New Jersey.

Here is what you need to know

To qualify for a medical marijuana card in New Jersey, you must have one or more of the following medical conditions

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Anxiety
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Dysmenorrhea
  • Glaucoma
  • Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
  •  Crohn’s disease
  • Intractable skeletal, muscular spasticity
  • Migraine
  • Multiple sclerosis (MS)
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Opioid Use Disorder
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizure disorder or epilepsy
  • Terminal illness with a prognosis of fewer than 12 months
  • Tourette Syndrome

If you have any of these conditions, you can easily get approved for a medical marijuana card in New Jersey.

Get Medicsl Marijuana Card

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey

  • Consult with a licensed physician who can certify that you have a qualifying medical condition and get approved. 
  • After you’ve been certified by a physician, register with the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (MMP) by completing an online application. You must provide proof of New Jersey residency and a government-issued ID.
  • Once your application is approved, you’ll receive your medical marijuana card in the mail. You can then visit a licensed dispensary in New Jersey to purchase your medical marijuana.

Frequenty Asked Questions(FAQs)


A: The physician evaluation takes 15-30 minutes and the entire process, from certification to receiving your card in the mail, can take up to 30 days.

A: The cost of the physician's evaluation for first-time cards is $159 and $119 for renewals and can be conducted online through telemedicine. The state registration fee is $100 for two years with the MMP. A reduced fee of $20 is available for the following


  • Senior Citizens (65+)
  • Military Veterans (must submit DD-214 Form) 
  • Social Security Disability (SSD) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 
  • Letter from SSA.GOV (must submit "Verification of Benefits") 
  • NJ Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 
  • NJ Temporary Disability Benefits 
  • Medicare Recipients (over 65
  • NJ Medicaid

A: Patients with a medical marijuana card in New Jersey can purchase up to three ounces of medical marijuana in 30 days. Terminally ill patients or those in hospice care don't have any limits.

A: No, patients with a medical marijuana card in New Jersey are not allowed to grow their cannabis.

If you're considering using medical marijuana to treat your condition, getting a medical marijuana card in New Jersey is the first step. After you are approved and registered, you can legally purchase and use medical marijuana to help manage your symptoms. Follow the laws and regulations surrounding medical marijuana in New Jersey to ensure you use it legally and safely.

1Body1Life Wellness and medical marijuana card clinic treats patients in the following states:

Select your marijuana card state